‘Django Unchained’ and ‘Ted’ Lead Nominations of 2013 MTV Movie Awards

The Quentin Tarantino-directed drama and the Seth MacFarlane comedy land seven nods, but ‘The Twilight Saga’s Breaking Dawn Part II’ gets only one nom for Taylor Lautner’s shirtless performance.

The battle at this year’s fan-voted MTV Movie Awards is dominated by Quentin Tarantino’s slavery drama “Django Unchained” and Seth MacFarlane’s R-rated comedy “Ted”. Scoring seven nods each, both are followed by romcom drama “Silver Linings Playbook” with six and superhero flick “The Dark Knight Rises” with five.

All those four films are facing off one another for the most favorite movie along with “The Avengers”. “Django” and “Ted” meet each other again to compete for Best On-Screen Duo, Best Kiss, Best Fight and Best WTF Moment. The former completes its seven noms in Best Male Performance and Best Villain categories, while the latter adds Best Female Performance and Best Shirtless Performance nods.

In Best Male Performance, Ben Affleck (“Argo”) is pitted against Bradley Cooper (“Silver Linings Playbook”), Daniel Day-Lewis (“Lincoln”), Jamie Foxx (“Django”), Channing Tatum (“Magic Mike”).

In the female department, Jennifer Lawrence (“Silver Linings”) is competing against Anne Hathaway (“Les Miserables”), Mila Kunis (“Ted”), Emma Watson (“The Perks of Being a Wallflower”), and Rebel Wilson (“Pitch Perfect”).

In Best On-Screen Duo, Leonardo DiCaprio and Samuel L. Jackson (“Django”) are going head-to-head with Mark Wahlberg and Seth MacFarlane (“Ted”), Cooper and Lawrence (“Silver Linings”), Robert Downey Jr. and Mark Ruffalo (“Avengers”), and Will Ferrell and Zach Galifianakis (“The Campaign”).

In Best Kiss, Kerry Washington and Jamie Foxx (“Django”) are battling Kunis and Wahlberg (“Ted”), Kara Hayward and Jared Gilman (“Moonrise Kingdom”), Lawrence and Cooper (“Silver Linings”), and Watson and Logan Lerman (“Perks of Being a Wallflower”). Competing for the title of Breakthrough Performance are Ezra Miller (“Perks of Being a Wallflower”), Eddie Redmayne (“Les Miserables”), Suraj Sharma (“Life of Pi”), Quvenzhane Wallis (“Beasts of the Southern Wild”), and Wilson (“Pitch Perfect”).

“Twilight Saga” which was a frequent dominator in the past only lands one nod this year, hot on heels of its unlucky win for the worst titles at Razzie Awards. Taylor Lautner (“The Twilight Saga’s Breaking Dawn Part II”) is vying for Best Shirtless Performance, facing off Christian Bale (“Dark Knight Rises”), Daniel Craig (“Skyfall”), MacFarlane (“Ted”), and Tatum (“Magic Mike”).

Winners will be announced in a live telecast Sunday, April 14 at 9 P.M. ET. Wilson, who gets two nods for her role as Fat Amy in “Pitch Perfect”, will host the annual event. “Anchorman” actor Will Ferrell will receive MTV’s Comedic Genius Award. Fans can start picking their favorites on MTV’s official site with voting for Movie of the Year staying live throughout the telecast.

About Magnus Ent

For Updates on BBM, Kindly Add pin:5931C2AE

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Movie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: